Luke’s Favorite Films Take Two: #74

#74 The Sandlot (1993)

The Sandlot
Director: David M. Evans
Starring: Tom Guiry, Mike Vitar and Patrick Renna
Plot: “A new kid in town is taken under the wing of a young baseball prodigy and his team. Together, they get themselves into many adventures involving rival teams, lifeguards, and a vicious dog.”
Stock: Holding
Previous Ranking: #75

“You’re killing me, Smalls!”

I had a great childhood … couldn’t have asked for a better one. The summers were filled with baseball, either around the neighborhood playing wiffle-ball or on an actual Little League diamond. What more could a kid ask for? Whenever The Sandlot comes on it takes me back a much simpler time and I always end up smiling.

Yes, The Sandlot has some solid one-liners and is an overall funny movie, but that’s not why it’s on this list. It’s here because it resonates so well with me. It makes me forget about the real world and brings me back to my youth. And any film that can consistently do that deserves recognition.

UPDATE

Despite the constant fluctuation of this list, it’s comforting to know that The Sandlot only moved one spot in the last four years. And to be honest, I can’t think of a better compliment to give, because it perfectly describes The Sandlot’s place in a lot of our lives, especially those in my generation.

We grow older, we grow larger, we marry, we divorce, we have kids, we have jobs and we have responsibilities. And even though our childhood has been forcefully removed, every once in a while we need to remember our younger days. And that feeling, will never change.

Fun Fact: The older and younger Benny are played by real-life brothers, Pablo Vitar and Mike Vitar.

Hint for #73: The fifth installment of this franchise was just released last July.

Peace Be The Journey.

One thought on “Luke’s Favorite Films Take Two: #74

  1. Pingback: Luke’s Favorite Films Take Two: #75 | Luke Florence

Leave a comment