Luke’s Favorite Films Take Two: #81

#81: Saw I (2004)

Saw
Director: James Wan
Starring: Cary Elwes, Leigh Whannell and Danny Glover
Plot: “Would you kill to live? When a madman tries to teach how much life is worth, two men find themselves in a room with no idea how they got there or why they’re there.”
Stock: Holding
Previous Ranking: #40

“Live or die, make your choice.”

Typical “horror” films usually result in me laughing. I never seem to get too scared or frightened by scary movies. It’s one of the reasons why you haven’t seen too many “scary” flicks on my list.

Saw I is not a typical horror film by any stretch of the imagination. It’s not predictable at all and actually puts the viewer on the edge of their seats from start to finish.

I’ve actually seen this movie in the theatre twice mainly because the ending comes completely out of nowhere and I wanted to watch it again. I was utterly shocked at the finale, didn’t see it coming at all, and had me leaving the theatre with a huge smile on my face.

Another compelling element of Saw are the complex traps that “Jigsaw” sets up. It forces you to put yourself in the traps and ask how you would escape. It’s not a movie for the faint of heart.

Saw continued to pump out movies once a year for the next seven and I viewed the first couple before finally giving up on the series. I was tired of trying to keep up with the plot lines which were getting more and more confusing as the series went on. But the first one was simple and so great it lands a spot here.

UPDATE

Saw is a psychological thriller powerhouse of a film. The sequels went further away from that aspect and relied on grossing the audience out. But the original – while gruesome in certain aspects – is set apart with its simple, yet deep story-line. Throw in an outstanding ending, and you get a great way to spend 90 minutes.

Fun Fact: The entire movie was filmed in 18 days.

Hint for #80: Sandusky, Ohio is the setting for this comedy.

Peace Be The Journey.

One thought on “Luke’s Favorite Films Take Two: #81

  1. Pingback: Luke’s Favorite Films Take Two: #82 | Luke Florence

Leave a comment